Which WoW expansion is BFA?

Battle for Azeroth

Battle for Azeroth (BFA) is the seventh expansion to the popular (MMORPG) World of Warcraft (WoW) franchise. BFA introduced new continents, character races, and other content.

Blizzard Entertainment released BFA on August 14, 2018. Some of the expansion additions include:

  • Players could level up to 120 instead of 110
  • 4 new character races for the Alliance and the Horde
  • 3-player expeditions to unknown islands
  • Kul Tiras and Zandalar continents

Other WoW expansions

BFA is one of many expansions for WoW. Here is the full list as of 2022:

  • Burning Crusade (BC) - Released in January 2007
  • Wrath of the Lich King (WOTLK) - Released in November 2008
  • Cataclysm (cata) - Released in December 2010
  • Mists of Pandaria (MOP) - Released in September 2012
  • Warlords of Draenor (WOD) - Released in November 2014
  • Legion - Released in August 2016
  • Battle for Azeroth (BFA) - Released in August 2018
  • Shadowlands - Released in November 2020


The island expeditions in BFA were awesome
Battle for Azeroth WoW expansion
Battle for Azeroth WoW expansion

Related Slang


Updated January 31, 2022

BFA definition by

This page explains what the acronym "BFA" means. The definition, example, and related terms listed above have been written and compiled by the team.

We are constantly updating our database with new slang terms, acronyms, and abbreviations. If you would like to suggest a term or an update to an existing one, please let us know!