Which WoW expansion is WotLK?


Cataclysm (cata) is the third expansion to World of Warcraft (WoW), a popular (MMORPG) franchise that debuted in 2004. Cata's plot revolves around the return of Deathwing the Destroyer, an evil dragon, and introduces several features to WoW, including two new character races (Goblins and Worgens) and the revamp of old worlds and character talents.

WoW includes characters played by real players and non-player characters (NPCs). Players can explore their world, fight enemies, and complete quests in the game. The cata expansion allows WoW players to experience new aspects of gameplay but is not required to play WoW.

When was the Cataclysm expansion released?

Blizzard Entertainment released cata on December 7, 2010. It is one of many expansions for WoW (full list as of 2022):

  • Burning Crusade (BC) - Released in January 2007
  • Wrath of the Lich King (WOTLK) - Released in November 2008
  • Cataclysm (cata) - Released in December 2010
  • Mists of Pandaria (MOP) - Released in September 2012
  • Warlords of Draenor (WOD) - Released in November 2014
  • Legion - Released in August 2016
  • Battle for Azeroth (BFA) - Released in August 2018
  • Shadowlands - Released in November 2020


I can't wait for the cata release date!
Cataclysm WoW expansion
Cataclysm WoW expansion

Related Slang


Updated January 31, 2022

cata definition by

This page explains what the abbreviation "cata" means. The definition, example, and related terms listed above have been written and compiled by the team.

We are constantly updating our database with new slang terms, acronyms, and abbreviations. If you would like to suggest a term or an update to an existing one, please let us know!